Mystic City - Theo Lawrence

by 12:30 AM 3 comments

Mystic City - 
Theo Lawrence
Released: November 1, 2012
Publisher: Doubleday Childrens


Synopsis: For fans of  Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself. 



What it's about: In a Dystopian world when Global Warming has taken it's toll and the sea has risen dramatically, the rich have built themselves a world high above the ground, leaving the poor below. The Mystics, people with special and unusual powers, are blamed for all the problems in the world, and are regularly drained of their powers. Aria is one of the rich. Hunter is a poor rebel mystic. Together, they fight the rising war, and fall in love along the way.



What I thought: I have been on a run of great book recently and this one is no different. I read it in one sitting, it had me that captivated! Lawrence has created a world that sucks you in, and characters that take a hold over you and don't let go. Aria, while super naive and sometimes irritating, is a wonderful main character - stuck in the rich world is all she has ever known, but now she is starting to see things clearly. Things her parents would kill over. Hunter is the bad boy mystic rebel with a few secrets of his own. We watch as Aria suffers from memory loss, trying to navigate a life she can't remember, all the while new feelings and experiences pop up. You feel for her, for Hunter, for all the others that suffer, and of course this story has many twists along the way.

What can I say? I'm a sucker for a well-written book that sucks you in, and this book is definitely one of those.


The Good: I love that this novel is a Dystopian crossed with a Fantasy - it definitely makes for a whole new world to explore and understand, and makes it a whole lot of fun.


The Bad: When's the next one?!


Rating:




  5 Bookstacks


Buy links:


Claire Blennerhassett

Reader, Blogger

Twenty-something | book-blogger | tea-drinker | procrastinator | wannabe-writer | student

3 comments:

  1. This looks like such a good book and I love the cover. I like the idea of dystopian mixed with fantasy as well. Thanks for the great review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review. I really loved Aria and Hunter... Glad you like this a lot too...

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really want to read this book. I have heard such good things about it. I am glad you loved it and have nothing bad to say about it. Thanks for the review.

    Sara @ Just Another Story

    ReplyDelete

Ooh yes, comments puh-leaaase :D